The Indiana Jewish Historical Society (IJHS) invites you to learn about the Hoosier Jewish Legends – A Hall of Fame (HJL) celebrating Hoosiers who have created a significant and lasting impact to their profession, faith-based and/or secular community, and the legacy of the role of the Jewish community in Indiana’s continuing story.

Please join us this summer for our annual lunch and celebration as we induct our honorees as 2019 Hoosier Jewish Legends.

Linda Cohen, West Lafayette

Carolyn Leeds, Indianapolis

Joseph Levine, Fort Wayne (z”l of blessed memory)

John Planer, North Manchester

Betty Stein, Fort Wayne

Sunday, August 25, 2019 at noon,  $39 per person (dairy luncheon)

The Broadmoor Country Club
2155 Kessler Blvd. W. Dr.
Indianapolis, IN  46228

Invitations will be mailed. Kindly RSVP to Sheila Greenwald (sheilaeg@aol.com)

Download a 2019 nomination form

Rules of entry:

  • Nominations must pertain to some aspect of Jewish life in Indiana or local history.
  • A nomination form and a $36 Application Fee must accompany each submission.
  • A picture of the nominee must be included with the submission.
  • Letters of recommendation, articles, brochures and other supporting documents are encouraged (on 8 ½ x 11 paper).
  • Completed nomination forms must be postmarked by May 1, 2019.

Submitted materials will not be returned unless otherwise agreed upon in advance.  Incomplete nomination forms and/or omitted required materials will automatically disqualify the nominee from consideration. Indiana Jewish Historical Society (IJHS) membership is not a requirement for consideration. Individuals cannot nominate themselves.

Notification of Award:

The Hoosier Jewish Legend Awards Committee is appointed annually by the IJHS. The Awards Committee reserves the right to move nominees into different categories, award multiple nominees within a category, or decline granting of an award within a category, as appropriate.

All submissions are confidential and nominees are not notified of the application submitted or its status unless it is successful. Nominators will be notified of receipt of submitted applications and notified directly should their nominee be selected. Nomination forms remain active for three years from the original date of submission.

Lois and Sidney Eskenazi  (Indianapolis)
Gerald Kraft (Indianapolis)
David Piser (South Bend)
Cantor Janice Roger (Indianapolis)
Joan Wolf (Indianapolis)

Mark Greenberg (Muncie)
Ron Klain (Indianapolis)
Eva Mozes Kor z”l of blessed memory (Terre Haute)
Leon Mordoh (Indianapolis)
David Wolf (Indianapolis)

Max Einstandig (Terre Haute)
Leonard Goldstein z”l of blessed memory (Fort Wayne)
Louis Lemberger (Indianapolis)
Frank H Newman (Indianapolis)
Lawrence Reuben (Indianapolis)
Dennis Sasso (Indianapolis)
Sandy Sasso (Indianapolis)
Martin and Helen Schwartz (Muncie)
Elizabeth Weinberg (Madison)