About Us

Brief History

1972: Joe Levine founded the IJHS in Fort Wayne, Indiana.
1995: Eileen Baitcher became the Executive Director of the IJHS.
1999: The IJHS collections were donated to the Indiana Historical Society in Indianapolis.
2017: The IJHS office moved from Fort Wayne to Indianapolis.
2017: Wendy Soltz became the Executive Director of the IJHS.

Our Board

The Board of Directors consists of members from around the state, serving two consecutive three-year terms (representing their communities). IJHS members vote to elect each Board member. The Board of Directors annually appoints our Executive Board, which consists of the President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer. Executive positions are limited to two 2-year consecutive terms. The IJHS employs an executive director and an administrator.

President: Kevin Krulewitch, Indianapolis
Immediate Past President: Sheila Greenwald, Indianapolis
Vice President: Steve Bulloff, Indianapolis
Treasurer: Leo Grabovsky, Carmel

  • Irv Adler, Fort Wayne
  • Paul Brockman, Indianapolis
  • Alan Gilbert, Fort Wayne
  • Gale Halperin, Indianapolis
  • Melanie Hughes, New Albany
  • Carolyn Leeds, Indianapolis
  • Mark Roger, Carmel
  • Stanley Steiner, Marion
  • Mary Tilden, West Lafayette
  • Sarann Warner, Indianapolis

Executive Director: Wendy Soltz, Fort Wayne
1995-2017, Eileen Baitcher
1972-1995, Joseph Levine

Administrator: Stephanie Dlatt, Indianapolis

Past Presidents:
1972-1975, Max Einstandig*
1976-1978, Mary Fink*
1980-1982, Charles B Fine*
1982-1985, Martin Schwartz*
1985-1986, David Kleinman
1986-1989, David Fogle*
1989-1992, Earl Brenn*
1992-1993, Wynn Robin*
1993-1995, Arthur Meyers
1995-1997, Richard Friedman
1997-1999, Paul Bloomberg
1999-2003, Judy Koor
2003-2009, Trent Pendley
2009-2012, Alan Gilbert
2012-2017, Sheila Greenwald

*Of blessed memory